Circular Passing

andrew-bunday-end-of-level-flickr

Photo credit: Andrew Bunday



A crash woke me.  Alone.  I bolted up.  Tomil knew better than to wander off.  I shouted for him. No response.  Half-asleep, panicking, I went in search.

I was immediately lost.

Yesterday we’d wandered this ancient temple for hours.  All corridors.  No rooms.  No stairways.  No exits.

Around a corner, a basin appeared.  An image shimmered deep within: Tomil, falling, flailing.  Needing me.

I grabbed for my husband.  My hand thrust deeper than the basin could possibly be.  Oily liquid sucked me in.  I couldn’t even struggle.  I fell.

Far off, I heard a crash. Then Tomil, calling my name.



Word count: 100.  Written for TWO challenges.  First, for this week’s Friday Fictioneers challenge.  Thanks as always to our wonderful fairy blogmother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting!  See the original photo prompt below (thanks Amy!), and click here to read the other stories written for this prompt.  Second, for Sammi Cox’s Month of Mini Writing Challenges, Day 19 – “It’s night.  You’re asleep.  You hear a loud crash close by.  What happens next?  Tell us in less than 100 words.”

Happy writing, everyone!

ff-from-amy-reese

Photo © Amy Reese



 

34 thoughts on “Circular Passing

    • Thanks Sammi! I don’t feel like I’m very good at suspense, so I’ve been trying to practice more — since I am, after all, writing a novel about a haunted house. I’m glad to hear it seems to be working!

      Like

  1. Pingback: A Month of Mini Writing Challenges – Days 11-20: The Links | Sammi Cox

Leave a Reply

