Cold Reality

Frost crystals on car window allspossible flickr

Photo credit: Allspossible.org.uk at Flickr



 

She must be a fairy.  Flitting, hummingbird-like. Too fast to see, but I know she’s beautiful.

Glowing, mesmerizing, drawing me on.

Up the mountain path, how far I can’t tell.

It snows.  Lacy flakes as big as leaves, dancing side to side, floating around me, sparkling bright in the summer sun.

A sheet of ice obscures my vision. Where is she?

Ice wall now, surrounding me.  I can’t feel my feet.

Was that her?  I wipe the cloudy ice. My hand sticks.  Searing pain, then numbness.

I press my face against it, close as I can.

Just one more glimpse.



Word count: 100.  Written for this week’s Friday Fictioneers prompt.  Big thanks to our hostess, fairy blogmother Rochelle Wisoff-Fields — who is a very nice fairy, and not at all the type to lure you to your death!   She also provided this week’s lovely and inspiring photo, below.  Click here to see the other stories!

FF.ice-on-the-window

Photo © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields



24 thoughts on “Cold Reality

  1. Ooh a fairy tale from Eneana! (I was going to write “Ooh, an Eneanean fairytale”…but couldn’t be sure that was right.)
    Those lacy snowflakes make we wish it was winter. I marvel at how you can get so much description into so few words… Great story!:-)

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, a real fairy tale! And as you can see, fairies are not especially benign creatures in my world. I guess there does have to be an adjective for from the planet; I think Eneanan sounds right. Although almost nobody on the planet even realizes there are other planets or planes, so they’d never say that. It would be like people from ancient Rome or medieval Europe thinking of themselves as Earthlings.

      Thanks — I’ve been deliberately trying to work more on description. It’s hard to squeeze it in and also get a bit of plot in there, but then, that’s why it’s a “challenge,” right?

      Liked by 1 person

    • Curiosity can be dangerous, yes! Although you don’t always get a choice with fairies; they might ensorcell you just because you happened to be on the wrong path at the wrong time. Thanks for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah yes, those real old-style English fairies who do mischief, not pretty, little, insipid fairies from Disney!
    Beautifully narrated, Joy! The sense of being lured to one’s doom looms large through your fairy-tale. And that last line, “Just one more glimpse,” reads like someone addicted to a psychedelic drug. Vivid, chilling story.
    (My literary mind immediately thinks of “La Belle Dame Sans Merci” – just because it’s one of my favorite “fairy” poems!)

    Like

    • Thanks Vijaya! I try not to be too much like any specific real-life myths, but yes, the fairies in Eneana are certainly more like the mischievous English ones than the sweet Disney version! I’m glad the addiction feel came across; the idea is that the narrator is under a spell, so it really is like being on very strong drugs.

      I’d forgotten about La Belle Dame Sans Merci but yes, I can see the connection!

      Liked by 1 person

    • They even look pretty sketchy, if you get up close enough to really see them, and aren’t under one of their spells already. A lot of people *claim* that the fairies they’ve seen were beautiful, but oddly enough, none of them could describe the fairies, or described them totally differently than others did. 😉 Thanks for reading!

      Like

  3. Fairies, I love them in all the many shapes they come. Do you know Susanna Clark’s elves? They are evil. Or Guy Gavriel Kay’s Last Light of the Sun? Also fascinating, just as yours are. The description creates this dream-like, magical feeling of floating a tad bit above reality. Great writing, Joy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! No, I don’t know those elves, but they do sound interesting. I’m glad it sounded magical and dream-like; I was trying to think of how it must feel to be so ensorcelled that you can’t see how illogical all of this is, much less how dangerous.

      If you want to know more about why the fey are how they are (and the elves), check out the very first story I posted on this blog: Kakika. It’s definitely a bit longer than my flash fiction pieces, but it packs an awful lot of world-building in there.

      https://talesofeneana.wordpress.com/2015/06/24/kakika/

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

