Project 10K

Get your writing groove on!

I was lucky enough to have my friend G over at Flights of Fancy as a cabin mate for Camp NaNo this past month.  Several of us were talking about how to keep up the momentum once the month was over and G had a great idea: Project 10K.

The challenge is open to all — go check out her post: here.

If you can write 50,000 words for NaNoWriMo or Camp NaNo, or even 20,000, then try challenging yourself to write 10,000 every month. That’s only 333 words per day. Or if you write like me, 2,500 words each weekend. That’s nothing!  Okay, not really.  Some months, it might be easy. Other times, it’s going to be a real challenge.

So not nothing. 

Something GOOD.

If you’re revising, you can challenge yourself to edit 10K words instead.  You might still end up with 10K words when you’re done, but they’ll be better words than they were before, right?

I’m going to have a busy couple months ahead of me, and then… oh wait, it’s going to just get busier come fall.  So I really need a fire under my butt if I’m going to get a decent amount of writing done in my “free” time.

Thanks for stoking the fire, my friends.

So this is my commitment: I am going to try to get that 10K badge every month between now and NaNo, and then keep going after that.  Whew, I’ve said it out loud. This is like telling people you’re going to quit smoking, right?  Now you really have to do it!

Are you with me?

I didn’t hear you. Shout it louder!

ARE YOU WITH ME?

That’s better.

Hang on, writing buddies.

Because we are going to ROCK THIS.



 

6 thoughts on “Project 10K

  1. Hah, you and me, both. I’ve been thinking about how to show them off later (always the optimist) and thought about just stuffing them into a gallery and put that on an extra page or the side bar. Onwards!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not sure where to put them either. I have a couple blog awards at the bottom of my main page, but that’s going to get awfully long once I get ALL these 10K badges. Yep, I’m being the optimist too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A great idea – go for it! (I’ve just mentioned it to Lou, but she tells me she’s at the editing stage now, so this probably wouldn’t be of use.) Sorry to hear about the overload you’re in for at work. Unfortunately (as a former teacher) I know that feeling too well. But, as they say, that’s life. We have to earn a crumb or two.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m using it for revising too, although I’m still not totally sure how to count words for revising. I’m going to start keeping track of how long it actually takes me to revise versus to write the same number of words. But my assumption is that most of my revising is pretty fast. So my plan is to record the number of words for that chapter before I start revising and again afterward, and use the higher of the two numbers as my word count base. If I did only minor editing, I’ll use half that base as my editing word count. If I did major editing, I’ll add the whole amount to my word count goal for the month.

      That is, after this week is over! Big meetings and presentations today and tomorrow, then a crazy round of catching up on Friday, then a weekend for catching up on personal stuff. Whew.

      Like

      • The “busy” at my job comes in waves. If I was more organized, I could spread it out more evenly and not be so stressed, but I seems to work best in surges. Luckily, we all survived the big surge of this week — the important meetings and conference are over, and now we can relax and regroup. Whew!

        Like

Leave a Reply

